God Never Lets Go

shutterstock_27013286FACE TILTED. Eyes closed. Tears trickled in rivulets to the edge of my chin and dropped in small splatters onto the pew in front of me. With raised hands, I sung from my heart’s depth, “Still I will praise You. Still I will praise You, Lord.”

The song “You Never Let Go” by Beth and Matt Redman came at a time in my life when Ben and I could not see God’s light at the end of our tunnel. We lived in continual darkness while seeking visitation with Ben’s children. We knew God had a plan, but it seemed as though He forgot to tell us.

Occasionally, we would catch a glimpse of it. Just enough to remind us God was there and in control.

One morning in church, as our worship leader led us in the song “You Never Let Go”, my heart ached, yet I refused to let Satan rob what I knew to be true. God was with us and someday, in His timing, His light would reveal what had been hidden for so long. So with fervent determination and love for God, I praised Him despite my circumstances.

Tunnel Picture After a couple of years of God working behind the scenes, we finally began to see the light. Our perseverance in praise and determination to hang on to God’s promises brought us to the light at the end of our tunnel.

After a four-year struggle,  we were finally reunited with Ben’s children. We learned during our time of waiting, God never let go of us. He held us tight. Kept us strong. He carried us through.

Even if we were never reunited with Ben’s children, I believe we would continue to praise God. God does not promise He will grant all of our wishes, desires, or prayer petitions. But He does promise He will never let go. He is always with us. He is the Alpha and Omega. The Beginning and the End. He is with us until the end of the age.

“I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty.” (Revelation 1:8, KJV)

“…And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20, NIV)

Prayer:  Dear God. Thank You for sticking with me through good times and bad. I know in my heart You are always there even when I can’t see You or feel Your presence. Help me to hang on to Your hand when darkness crowds my soul. Give me a glimpse of Your everlasting light. Encourage me to continue to praise You, even when I hurt. In Jesus’ precious name I pray, Amen.

Post a comment. I’d love to hear from you.

Tweet It:  “God never lets go. He is always with us.” Sheryl M. Baker (Click to Tweet)

Redman, Beth and Matt. You Never Let Go. Everything Glorious. Integrity's Praise! Music. 2011.
Author: Sheryl M. Baker

Sheryl M. Baker is a published writer who enjoys bringing hope and encouragement through God's word. Her devotions have appeared in Power For Today, Light from the Word and christiandevotions.us. She is a contributing author to Yvonne Lehman’s books Spoken Moments and More Christmas Moments. Sheryl lives in La Porte, Indiana with her husband Ben. Connect with Sheryl at sherylmbaker.wordpress.com or spunbythepotter.com.

Comments Welcome

